Home > Uncategorized > Okay, so here’s how it’s going to go

Okay, so here’s how it’s going to go

Plan A: Throw my resume to the wind, apply online for as many summer jobs as I can at SAS, and hope one of them shows interest and works out and hires me.

Pros: Get to work at SAS. Good pay, fun nerd job, meet some people and get inside the organization.

Cons: Corporate job. Traffic. Working in a cube.

What happened: Nobody emailed me. In the last few weeks, I’ve started getting a bunch of emails saying that they’ve filled the position sand wishing me luck in my job search.

Plan B: Pick up extra hours over the summer working at Eva Perry Library, and write articles for Mentor Media in my downtime. Keep busy with work however I can.

Pros: Work at the library is usually fun, if mind-bogglingly dull. It’s amazing the kind of books you find, even after a year working at the joint. Plus, Mentor Media lets you work in your pajamas whenever you like. Obvious benefits.

Cons: Requires self-motivation. I have to force myself to work instead of practicing Guitar Hero or sleeping all day. Library can get boring, especially during the week days. Probably lower wage than at SAS.

What happened: Eva Perry is closed until mid-July. It’ll take too long to get rolling.

Plan C: Work Mentor Media as a full-time job.

Pros: See above; working in pajamas, making your own hours. Plus, getting payed to play World of Warcraft. How awesome is that?

Cons: Same as above: requires self-motivation. Working in your pajamas every day for a week kind of makes you a bit … musky.

What happened: See below.

Plan D: Have a friend as SAS, on the inside, pass my resume to a friend of hers, without my knowledge, and then get an email from them asking for an interview.

Pros: Working at SAS, learning new stuff, working in a team with my friend on the inside.

Cons: Far from a done deal. My interview was this past week, and I won’t hear back either way until at least next Monday. Also, see above concerning cons of corporate job.

What happened: If I knew that, I’d be making my living as a fortune-teller, not a nerd.

The coming days shall prove interesting. Oh, and the pilot for Burn Notice was most pleasing. I was hooked from the first advertisements I saw for the show, but even my father, who approached it with much more skepticism, was smiling by the end of it. It’s got a fair bit of mystery, but also an amazing degree of ingenuity. I really must wonder if they can keep up the level of home-made gadgetry that the main character utilized.

Either way, the season pass is set up already.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Grandma
    June 29, 2007 at 10:37 am

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that something good turns up, and soon.

  2. Max
    June 29, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    You could apply for a job on State’s campus, so that you can keep your job via the school year and not have to go too far to get to it type of deal.

    Drop me a line if you have no clue how to get a job on campus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

