Home > Guitar Hero? > Words about words. Quaint, no?

Words about words. Quaint, no?

With school rapidly winding down (3 days of class including today, 4 days of exams, then Graduation), I find myself increasingly bored in class, with the constant preoccupation with my impending career as a world-famous guitarist. Well, okay, at least learning to play, and then becoming world famous. I actually ordered one of the starter kit things online, because it’s pretty much what I need: amp, strap, tuner, guitar, picks, etc. Hopefully by the end of the week I’ll have a shiny new Epiphone SG in my possession.

But anyways, being bored in class, I’ve taken something of a diversion from my usual random fiction writings to stay amused in class and turned towards the lyrical. The problem is that, instead of coming up with songs for the guitar, when I put pen to paper, I keep ending up with songs in my head that sound like hip-hop. Well, the verses at least. I think it may be because I’m trying to be overly verbose, so the words always sound like they’re coming out at the machine gun pace characteristic of hip-hop.

This isn’t entirely unexpected, since I recently have been listening to bits and pieces of Fort Minor’s work. It’s a side project of Linkin Park’s Mike Shinoda, who characteristically offered rap-like vocals to LP’s songs, causing them to be placed in the nu metal genre. But Fort Minor’s stuff is much more hip-hop, although the thing that makes it palatable to me is the subtle differences from most hip-hop — the artist is a respectable person, the songs are interesting instead of rehashing the standbys about the police and women. It’s an interesting style for me, because I’ve never really exposed myself to it much.

This isn’t neccessarily bad, except that the tentative idea was that these were the kind of songs that I could be putting to music made my newly-created guitar skills. Fort Minor-esque music has little to no guitar in it, mostly just having the heavy beat of a drummer and some other hip-hop mix-ins. In my mind, I was shooting for something simple but fun and fast: essentially, power pop. Something in the vain of Code Monkey or MxPx’s Before Everything and After album.

Oh well, maybe I can turn these words around into something a little more palatable.

Categories: Guitar Hero?
  1. May 21, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Lemme take a look at them lyrics, I might have a use for them.

    I’ll try to remember your gift tomorrow.

  2. Jen
    May 23, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Heh, now I just read about you getting an Epiphone. Never mind all my stuff about my guitar, then. That Epiphone looks sweet! Hope you get it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

