Home > Real Life > The world was so different a week ago

The world was so different a week ago

Well, not really. It was just clearer. Get up, go to school, etc. Now, I’ve got all kinds of tough choices to make, stuff like whether to buy sheets from NCSU for my dorm bed, which meal plan to get, whether to get a parking pass. Okay, so not entirely serious stuff. But more than before.

I’ve actually been thinking about how I will remember the good old days of high school, now that they’re past. My senior year is relatively well documented via the diligent journals I’ve attempted to keep for the last year and half or so. Beyond that, I’ve got some notebooks that were passed between friends during earlier years as a way of non-instant messaging, although I only have about half of those. Presumably others have the rest. But aside from words, what do I have?

Well, I only got my senior yearbook, although my sister has her senior yearbook, which conveniently doubles as my freshman yearbook. As for pictorial evidence, there’s not much on my part. I never really took a camera to school or made any effort to preserve the memories in that sense. I know others have some pictures that include myself, and I’ve done my best to collect those for archival, but they are few and far between.

As for motion pictures, there are almost none of me personally. In a burst of curiosity, I searched the various internet video sites for anything relating to SRHS, and found two types of videos. The first were “produced” by a fellow with a camera and some friends that like to rap, so you can see where this is going. However, these budding 2pacs have approximately the rhyming skills of, well, the word orange. And what rap video would be complete without a sip of the haterade? So, of course, there are a number of “slays” and “burns.”

The second type are somewhat more familiar to me, given that I actually peripherally knew the creators of them. They’re essentially documentaries of stupidity. Think Jackass, but less extreme and more, well, high school. There are ones of these guys trying to get a late-night fast food attendant to give them free food, or to drop an F-bomb. However, I’ll admit that I was rather surprised that a few of the videos actually evoked a small degree of nostalgia for me, because they were farewells to SRHS made when the producers graduated last year.

I’ll also admit, when I was around the guys at the time, they seemed to be pretty decent guys, just bored with school and life, and after braving the gauntlet of the final days of Seniorhood, I think I know a bit of what they felt. Hopefully they’re out somewhere doing crazy stuff and making themselves happy, because they sure aren’t being productive members of society.

And no, I’m not going to link to any of the videos I found, because they’re frankly crap. Aside from the aforementioned nostalgia value to a recent graduate, they hold almost no redeeming qualities. Especially the one where they repeatedly hit a shopping cart with a truck in an empty parking lot. What thrills.

Categories: Real Life
  1. June 10, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    … I could photoshop up some pictures for you, if you’d like. (remember the oter picture I fixed up for you? :D)

  2. hobershort
    June 10, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    While we’re at it, why not just “liven up” the whole high school memery thing with flamethrowers and dinosaurs?

  3. Ruth
    June 11, 2007 at 8:47 am

    College is really diffrent, and while I haven’t lived on campus, I can tell you that it is a lot more your level. It’s harder to stay in contact with friends when you don’t see them in the halls, but you are online a great deal more than I am, so I think you will do fine. I know you will do really well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

