Home > Uncategorized > The Elderly Dancing Radar Abomination From The Sewer: The True Story

The Elderly Dancing Radar Abomination From The Sewer: The True Story

Saturdays hold a special place in any teenager’s heart because it symbolizes the one perfect day out of the week: no work, no school, no reason to get up in the morning, and no work or school the next day. While I’m on break, I tend to think of every day as a Saturday. The world, not content to let me hold this conception, decided that this past Saturday that it would make sure that I remember what a particular awesome day Saturday is. To top off a week with a promising job interview and an amazing movie (Live Free or Die Hard), and other things, I started off with a gathering with friends to celebrate the passing of birthdays and play games.

As it turned out, there was some more celebration yet to conclude concerning my graduation, which involved copious and generous presents, for all of which I am yet grateful. And while I was there, we got on to the topic of Bob’s B-Movie Title Generator, which sparked my interest. So, out of curiosity and for fun, I set about porting the whole thing into Python. The final product is a nearly exact replica, with its only variation being an intentional one.

Okay, so that whole gathering was totally sweet. And after that, were the Raleigh Little Theatre Cantey Awards, a night of celebration of the past season. As it happened, because of my internship and after-school volunteering, I’ve actually worked on every show in the 2006-2007 season. As it happens, the Theatre found this worthy of recognition, by awarding me an Al Wolfheimer Volunteer Service Award, “Wolfie” for short. It wasn’t entirely surprising, but I will admit that it wasn’t until about a month ago that it really occurred to me how much I have done over the past year. My after-school work just became so integral with school, that the passing of an entire year seemed too short. I’m just happy that I got to spend so much time helping Roger Bridges, the Theatre’s Technical Director.

He’s leaving in a few weeks to get married and move up to Washington D.C., where he will be fabulously happy and wealthy and have many children — or something in that vein. At any rate, I’m very happy for him. I know leaving his job and the RLT community is going to be very hard on him, and it’ll be hard on us too. Losing him will be particularly sobering for me because, well, I’ve never known a world without him. I became the person that I am today, with my strong opinions and convictions and such, in high school. And growing up, as I did, spending a lot of time around RLT, Roger became a sort of father figure in a way that my father wasn’t. Now, let me disclaim the following by saying that my father is mine and I wouldn’t trade him for all the tea in China. See, Roger is a dude. My father has prepared me excellently to be a thinking, rational, and logical member of society. But Roger showed me how to be a guy. If you’ve met him, you’ll know what I mean, and if you haven’t, well, more’s the pity. At any rate, he’s going to be missed.

So anyways, where was I? Oh, right, the Canteys. So after the Canteys, a bunch of RLT folks ended up adjourning to a piano bar, which my sister Ruth dragged me to. It was an interesting experience, to say the least. It was pretty much karaoke, but with broadway tunes sung by people who are actually qualified to do so. The cover was steep, since I am under 21 and therefore wouldn’t be recouping them their costs buy consuming alcohol, but that was okay. The whole night was worth it for the drive home where my sister and I sang along with the radio at the top of our lungs. Probably the best part of the whole thing was when “The Power of Love” by my man Huey came on and we just belted it out. Ahh, good times.

Hmm, well, wasn’t that fun? I generally dislike posts of this format that talk about all the stuff the writer did that day, but I thought this past Saturday was meritorious enough to bear blogging about. Ah, good times.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Grandma
    July 3, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Well, Ben, I was actually able to understand all of what you were talking about in this blog, and I think it was quite a worthwhile post if for no other reason than that. But your Saturday was indeed a great one, and thanks for telling us about it.

  1. July 2, 2007 at 8:15 pm

Leave a Reply

