Home > Real Life > Ch-ch-changes

Ch-ch-changes

G’Kar once said that all of life can be broken down into moments of transition or moments of revelation. I’m stuck sorely in a moment of transition, and it’s starting to get on my nerves.

For example, the there’s the transition between my old graphics card and my new one, because I torched the old one, on accident. The new one’s in the mail, so I’ve got no computer games to play (except World of Warcraft, limping along on my laptop).

Now, this wouldn’t be a problem, because I have a summer job working for Mentor Media, except that that too has begun its transition from summer job mode to the way it usually is during the year, so I’ve got more than enough time for the few articles I’ve been asigned.

Okay, so I’ve got no games and no work. What does that leave? What did people do before computers? TV? Well, I’ve watched everything I’m interested in on both (!!!) TiVos. Hmm, what else? Oh, yeah, books!

Well, that was going okay until I ran out of pages in Atlas Shrugged. (!!!!!!!) Yeah, I finally finished it. I did some poking around, based on what I remember, and found the post on Kim du Toit’s website that spurred me into pulling the 1079-page tome off my father’s bookshelf and begin to dive it. It’s dated 29 June 2005. It only took me a little over two years to get through the book. Sheesh. (Full disclosure: I tend to jump around between books a lot. In those two years I also read all of Steven Brust’s Vlad Taltos novels, as well as Homer Hickam’s Rocket Boys once or twice.)

It’s actually sort of like losing an old friend, in some ways. Atlas Shrugged served as a refuge any time the world seemed unjust or stupid (i.e. most of the time when I read the news). After all, not only does it depict a far worse situation than we’re in, but it’s also guaranteed to have a happy ending. Of course, it’s not like the book has gone, because if I begin re-reading it today, almost all of what I read 2 years ago will be relatively new to me. That’s the problem with huge sagas like Atlas Shrugged.

Plus, I’ll be thumbing through those pages again before long, for the Atlas Shrugged Scholarship Essay Contest. I should probably get cracking on that. I’ve got a month to write 1000 words, on top of my forthcoming academic work.

Speaking of which, classes start in a week and a day. On top of that, I’ve taken a job offer to work part-time during the year at SAS. My schedule’s gonna fill up real quick.

I do realize how lucky I am to be able to gripe about being bored all day and sitting around at home. I also realize that this is quite likely the last time I will do that, at least over summer break. I was lucky this past summer to have such a forgiving summer job that allowed me to work in my pajamas. But this SAS job, or one like it, will likely be my full-time fare during summers while I’m in college, and then afterwards, I’ll be a genuine hard-working member of society, with no summer breaks at all. I’m not exactly lamenting this, because it also will afford me much more freedom to be gainfully and professionally employed, just noting.

Like I said, one long moment of transition.

Categories: Real Life
  1. Grandma
    August 14, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    Outstanding news, Ben! About the SAS job, I mean. It’s true, you are going to be busy, but you can handle it. How many hours will you be taking this first semester? Just don’t bite off too much, but I’m sure your parents and your advisor won’t let you do that.

    Sounds like the transition ends very soon.

  2. hobershort
    August 14, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    14 hours of classes, with a high likelihood of testing out of one of those hours in the coming weeks. I don’t know how many hours on the SAS job yet, but I imagine it’ll be in the double digits, up to 20/week, the upper limit of part-time.

  3. August 16, 2007 at 12:07 am

    I am completely stoked about moving into my dorm. I am completely stoked about college in general. Except the bits where I haven’t gotten any of my textbooks yet, but whatever.

    When I started writing this comment, I had some sort of coherrent thought in mind, but I seem to have lost it…. Eh, oh well. Best of luck with that thing with the whatever it was.

    (it’s a good thing you were able to use your books, who knows what would have happened if you had had to resort to pre-book entertainment)

  4. lyoncage
    August 20, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    G’Kar….you don’t know how happy it makes me to know you know who he is…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

