Home > College, Real Life > What we leave behind

What we leave behind

Off the top, a bit of an update: I’m moved into my dorm, and I had my first day of work at SAS yesterday. I’m writing this from D.H. Hill, the mega-library at NCSU.

Neither the move-in nor the first day went particularly flawlessly, but I muddled through. I knew that when I left for my dorm I would end leaving a good amount of stuff at home, so in the end, I just took what I had packed and let the things I was missing present themselves in due time. Unfortunately, the list of things that I did leave behind ended up being embarassingly long, and included everything from a spare towel to my cell phone charger to any extra underwear at all.

As for SAS, when I showed up for work, I didn’t have a user account or any rights on any computers. This was because, between my manager being on vacation and the IT person in charge of entering such things being out of the office, nobody had bothered to put me in the system. In the end, it worked out alright though, because I just sat in my cubicle and started teaching myself the SAS programming language.

Anyways, I should be in class right now, according to my schedule, but I found that when I showed up for the lab section of my Chemistry class, my first class of the year, that it won’t be starting up until this time next week. Funny how that works.

As for D.H. Hill itself, it’s an oddly nostalgic experience. I remember this place from my days of coming with my mother to work, but it’s got so many different parts that myself, a decade ago, never bothered to notice. I have a sort of mental floor plan, but it’s hardly complete.

At any rate, there you have it: my grand return to regular blogging. I hope to be able to crank out three to four posts a week as I had been doing before summer caught up with me. The only caveat is that they’ll likely be appearing a bit later than they used to, as I’ll mostly be writing them between my morning class and afternoon class, in the 10am-1pm window, about. At any rate, we’ll see.

Categories: College, Real Life
  1. Marie
    August 22, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    The things that you forget. I could have told you that the labs don’t start until the second week of class but I had forgotten. You make me nostalgic for D.H.Hill. I will have to come visit you there sometime.

  2. August 22, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    As a frequent contractor, I have come to expect that I will spend the first day of any job sitting in my cubicle with no user account, no phone, and no work to do. If I’m lucky, they give me some documents to read.

    Don’t worry about blogging on a regular schedule. Write when you have the time and the motivation. If that’s three or four times a week, great. If it’s less often, that’s OK too.

  3. Grandma
    August 22, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    Thanks for the blog, Ben, and best wishes with the classes and the job.

  4. Greg
    August 24, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Congratulations on starting college and on starting your job as SAS!

    I think you may have the college experience a little backwards, though. You’re not supposed to feel nostalgic for your dorm room until the last week of college in your senior year, not your first week in your freshman year! 🙂

    Best wishes on both your new endeavours. You’ll do great at both!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

