Home > Gaming, Guitar Hero? > A long time coming

A long time coming

Alright, it’s Monday, 29 October, and that means it’s time for the new Guitar Hero. There’s actually been a list of all 74 tracks, with videos of each being played, on the internet for a few days, and watching it, I can already tell this one will be awesome. Now, given that I own the game’s three* predecessors, and I’m going to be playing it with the guitar that originally came with the first GH, it’d be hard to disappoint me. I’m what you would call a fanboy.

That aside, the game does look good. I have a few quibbles, such as the fact that they took out some of the less-stupid playable characters, but they put in Tom Morello (Rage Against the Machine) and Slash (Gun ‘n’ Roses/Velvet Revolver) as replacements, which I find acceptable.

The one major whine I already have, though, is the fact they decided to include a Beastie Boys song in the game, and it was neither “Fight For Your Right (To Party)” or “No Sleep Til Brooklyn”, two of their most guitar-heavy tracks I’m familiar with. Heck, even though they have a guitarist, they got the guitarist from heavy metal band Slayer to play guitar on “No Sleep Til Brooklyn.” Instead, (and this was announced some months ago) they went with “Sabotage.” It’s not a bad song, and I had tacitly assumed that they used it because it would make for more interesting playing than either of the two I mentioned above.

Well, watching the video of “Sabotage” being played, I can tell I was wrong. The guitar part is still relatively simple. But I think I’ve finally figured out why they didn’t use either of the songs I mentioned. Both songs are very different from the other hip-hop tracks on the same album, and that’s because they’re both stylistic parodies. “No Sleep Til Brooklyn” was a parody of heavy metal, and well,  I’ll let Wikipedia (the home of the C+ term paper) take over:

Ironically, [“Fight for Your Right”] was intended as a parody of party and attitude songs, such as “Smokin’ In the Boys Room” and “I Wanna Rock.” But the irony was lost on most listeners. Mike D commented that, “The only thing that upsets me is that we might have reinforced certain values of some people in our audience when our own values were actually totally different. There were tons of guys singing along to ‘Fight for Your Right’ who were oblivious to the fact it was a total goof on them.” . . .

Despite probably being the group’s most famous song, the Beastie Boys have expressed distaste for it. In The Sounds of Science liner notes, MCA jokingly says the song “sucks,” though they didn’t feel the album would be complete without it. The group hasn’t performed the song live since 1987.

I can just imagine the conversation between the GH3 folks and the Beastie Boys: “Hey guys, you know that song that really rocks, and is really famous, but you guys hate?” “Yeah…” “Can we use it in our game and thereby have it further increase your association with the song?” “…”

On another tack, the producers finally got around to putting a track from Dragonforce, a band whose music is, well… Have a look for yourself. I won’t be playing that particular song on the hardest difficulty for a while, I can tell you that much.

*Yeah, three. There was Guitar Hero, Guitar Hero 2, and then Guitar Hero: Rocks the 80s. This new one is Guitar Hero 3.

Categories: Gaming, Guitar Hero?
  1. lyoncage
    October 30, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    The game is super fun! Co-Op Career Mode is the shit!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

