Home > The Internet > Awash in a sea of XML and JavaScript

Awash in a sea of XML and JavaScript

hallway_clear

I spent the whole weekend trying to come up with something to one-up Bob’s comment about cats versus dogs with, in order to continue the fun-to-write Battlefronts theme. But all the other conflicts that came to my mind were either too large in scope (Windows vs Linux), too close to call, or already covered in this space (Firefox vs Opera vs IE). Oh well.

On the other hand, I did get something productive done in that I finally got a camera and I’m now dabbling in a bit of photo-blogging. Not sure how it’ll turn out, but you’ll know as soon as I do.

The entire idea of photo-blogging came to me while I was walking across the main courtyard on campus, where the Campus Crusade for Christ had set up a three-sided column with the heading “Thoughts on God” and left the rest blank for people to write in. An anonymous contributor added “God is dead. -Neetche” with it spelled exactly thus. The attempt to give an air of intelligence by quoting that was just so undercut by the inability to spell Nietzsche that I found it worth sharing. But of course, I couldn’t without a camera.

I don’t have much as of yet, obviously, but I’ve already contributed a picture to the Consumerist blog photo pool, which the Consumerist blog uses to provide illustrations for posts. I also ended up tipping them off for a story a while ago, and had to use a public domain picture to illustrate my point because I had no camera. I should have done this way sooner.

Also, because doing all the photo work in the GIMP seemed like it would interface poorly with the extremely-AJAXed style of Flickr, I looked around at the online photo editors (which likewise run in a sandbox forged of AJAX) and ended up using Phixr, which can pull images from a Flickr account and save them back. It looks to be well designed and so far, darn convenient.

I have seen the future, and it is Web 2.0.

Categories: The Internet
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

